giovedì 18 febbraio 2016

John Dowland - The Art of Melancholy

20 tracks - MP3 192 Kbps - RAR 117 Mb

Of all English songwriters, John Dowland has enjoyed the most powerful afterlife, his voice unmistakably present in any version of his songs. The preeminent marriage of music and poetry, the nuanced shades of wit and melancholy and the extraordinary writing for both lute and voice all combine to proclaim Dowland as the father of English song.

Countertenor Iestyn Davies has gained international fame through his operatic performances (including lead roles at the Metropolitan Opera of New York and English National Opera) and recordings (including his Gramophone-Award-winning recording of Arias for Guadagni). Hearing him in this intimate musical setting is a revelation—as is the playing of the young lutenist Thomas Dunford.


1 - Sorrow, stay, lend true repentant tears
2 - Come again, sweet love doth now invite
3 - Go, crystal tears
4 - Mrs Winter's Jump
5 - I saw my lady weep
6 - Flow, my tears, fall from your springs
7 - Can she excuse my wrongs?
8 - Behold a wonder here
9 - Semper Dowland semper dolens
10 - In darkness let me dwell
11 - Time stands still
12 - All ye whom Love or Fortune hath betrayed
13 - Say, Love, if ever thou didst find
14 - Lachrimae
15 - Come away, come sweet love
16  - Burst forth, my tears
18 - Fortune my Foe
19 - Come, heavy Sleep
20 - Now, oh now I needs must part – The Frog Galliard

Iestyn Davies (countertenor)
Thomas Dunford (lute)

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento