sabato 1 settembre 2012

John Dowland - Ayres

20 tracks - MP3 192 Kbps - RAR 110Mb

DepositFiles - FileFactory

the (almost) whole discography is HERE:


From the First Booke of Songes (1597)
1 - Go Cristall Teares
2 - Awake sweet love
3 - His goulden locks
4 - Now O now
From the Second Booke of Songes (1600)
5 - A Sheperd in a shade
From the Third and Last Booke of Songes (1603)
6 - What if I never speede
Lamentatio Henrici Noel
7 - The Lamentation of a sinner
8 - Domine ne in furore
9 - Miserere mei Deus
10 - The humble sute of a sinner
11 - The Complaint of a sinner
12 - De profundis
13 - Domine exaudi
From: A Pilgrimes Solace
14 - Disdaine me still
15 - Tell me true Love
16 - Thou mightie God (The first Part)
17 - When Davids life (The second Part)
18 - When the poor Criple (The third Part)
19 - Welcome black night
20 - Cease these false sports

The Hilliard Ensemble

mercoledì 29 agosto 2012

Vivaldi Concertos. Telemann and Boismortier

23 tracks - MP3 192 Kbps - RAR 101Mb

DepositFiles - FileFactory

The "concertos" on this disc are of a special kind: they are so-called chamber concertos, for three or four solo instruments with continuo, but no orchestra. They're not overgrown trio sonatas; the group serves as its own orchestra, with individual players splitting off for solos. (continue)


Antonio Vivaldi
Chamber Concerto, for recorder, oboe, violin, bassoon & continuo in D major, RV 94

Georg Philipp Telemann
Quartet for flute, oboe, violin & continuo in A minor, TWV 43:a3

Antonio Vivaldi
Chamber Concerto ("Il gardellino"), for flute/recorder or violin, oboe or violin, violin, bassoon or cello & continuo in D, RV 90

Antonio Vivaldi
Sonata à 4, for flute (or oboe), oboe (or violin), bassoon (or cello) & continuo in C major, RV 801

Joseph Bodin de Boismortier
Concerto à 5, for flute, oboe, violin, bassoon & bass, Op. 37

Antonio Vivaldi
Chamber Concerto ("La tempesta di mare"), for flute, oboe, violin, bassoon & continuo in F major, RV 98

Antonio Vivaldi
Chamber Concerto, for flute, oboe, violin, bassoon & continuo in G minor, RV 107


Aldo Abreu (Recorder)
Geoffrey Burgess (Oboe)
Jennifer Roig-Francoli (Violin)
Suzanne De Serres (Bassoon)
Christopher Haritatos (Cello)
Deborah Fox (Theorbo, Guitar)
James Bobb (Harpsichord, Organ)

domenica 26 agosto 2012


17 MP3 - 192 Kbps - RAR 106Mb

DepositFiles - FileFactory

This program of old French music and poetry explores a very important but-little known aspect of the Middle Ages: the art of story-telling.

Centuries ago, the frontier between the musical and literary worlds was much less sharply drawn than today. This recording focuses on French narrative art, both religious and secular, from the late eleventh to the early thirteenth centuries. unicornThe recording begins with a lovers' Bestiary. In medieval times, animals both real and mythical were used to represent the various states of the human psyche: the works we perform tell of the sorrows of love (the panther), of treason and death (the unicorn), of vanity (the stag), of pride (the fox). We include simple songs (the nightingale), narrative recitations (Marie de France, the twelfth century poetess), and some of the more elaborate trouvère songs: one of these, Thibaut de Champagne's song of the unicorn, develops all the "secret" themes of courtly love, its joys and its tribulations, perils and hopes.

Gauthier de Coincy (1177-1236), prior of Vi sur Aisne, was a prolific author of religious poetry and music. Among his "Miracles of Our Lady," we have selected the cycle of Sainte Leocade (in its American première). The poems and songs tell the story of a holy statue stolen and then found in the Aisne, thanks to the intercession of the Virgin. Gauthier's text is rich in vivid images, and his melodies are among the most beautiful of the period.

The last part of this program focuses on women's texts. The "weaving song," Belle Doette, tells the romanticized story of a maiden whose lover is killed in a joust; the girl then creates the "abbey of love" where all disappointed lovers may go to escape the world. We then meet a dame de Paris, anxious to abandon a husband who beats her for the young gallant she has just met.

The songs and texts are framed by instrumental interludes, based on tunes of the French trouvères.

these notes (c) by Anne Azéma


1 - 'Serena En Mer Hante'
2 - 'En Mai Au Duz Tens Nouvel'
3 - 'Issi Avint Qu'un Cers'
4 - 'Dun Gupil'
5 - 'La Danse De Gupil'
6 - 'Ensement Com La Panthere'
7 - 'Monosceros Est Beste'
8 - 'Aussi Come Unicorne Sui'
9 - 'Que De Memoyre'
10 - 'las, Las Las'
11 - 'Quarte Jours Plains'
12 - 'Sour Cest Rivage'
13 - 'N'est Pas Merveille'
14 - 'De Sainte Leochade'
15 - 'Au Renouvel'
16 - 'Belle Doette'
17 - 'Je Chevauchoie L'autrier'

Anne Azema (Voice)
Cheryl Ann Fulton (Harp)
Shira Kammen (Vielle, Rebec, Harp)
Jesse Lepkoff (Flute)