giovedì 31 marzo 2011

William Hayes - The Passions, An Ode for Music

23 tracks -MP3 192 Kbps - RAR 128 Mb

Handel casts such a shadow over the English baroque that his contemporaries rarely measure up to him: here, though, is a real competitor. Oxford professor William Hayes wrote this delightful "Ode for Music" to a flamboyant text by William Collins, with characters including Cheerfulness, Fear, Anger, and Jealousy (whom you could perhaps match to the new cabinet) in 1750. Although the score is full of Handelian resonances, it has a real character of its own and manages to be both smoothly lyrical and wildly pictorial, performed with splendid sprightliness by forces from Basel under early music veteran Anthony Rooley.


The Passions, An Ode for Music (written in 1746 by William Collins)

First Part

1 Ouverture (Larghetto - Allegro)
2 Aria (Andante)
3 Aria (Allegro)
4 Recitativo accompagnato “When music, heav’nly maid, was young”
5 Song (Fear) “First Fear his hand” (Andante)
6 Song (Anger) “Next Anger rushed” (Allegro)
7 Song (Despair) “With woeful measures” (Largo)
8 Recitativo “But thou, O Hope”
9 Song (Hope) “Still it whispered promised pleasure” (Andante moderato)
10 Recitativo “And longer had she sung”
11 Song (Revenge) “He threw his blood-stained sword”
12 Chorus “Revenge impatient rose”

Second Part

13 Symphony (Spiritoso - Allegro)
14 Recitativo “Thy numbers, Jealousy”
15 Song ( Jealousy) “Of differing themes” (Andante Largo - Allegro…)
16 Song (Melancholy) “With eyes upraised”
17 Recitativo “But Oh, how altered”
18 Song (Cheerfulness & Chorus) “When Cheerfulness” (Andante)
19 Recitativo “Last came Joy”
20 Song ( Joy & Chorus) “He with viney crown advancing” (Vivace)
21 Recitativo accompagnato “But ah! Madness away”
22 Song (Reason) “In vain each seeks” (Larghetto)
23 Chorus “Thy wide extended power” (Andante Largo - Tempo ordinario)

Evelyn Tubb, Ulrike Hofbauer (sopranos)
Sumihito Uesugi (countertenor)
David Munderloh (tenor)
Lisandro Abadie (bass)

Chor der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis
La Cetra Barockorchester Basel
dir. Anthony Rooley